Actuary of the Year

call for nominations
2019 Actuary of the Year

The Actuaries Institute invites nominations from Members for the award of 2019 Actuary of the Year.

The award is presented to an individual who:

  • has brought credit to the profession and has the capacity to promote the profession under the banner of Actuary of the Year; and
  • has made a key contribution to business, the community, government or the profession.

There should be public awareness of the individual and, in making the award, preference will be given to a person who will bring favourable publicity to the profession.

It is expected that a particular recent contribution can be identified in making this award, although an ongoing contribution may be considered relevant. Whilst the individual needs to promote the profession, their contribution may not be specifically actuarial but, being a member of the actuarial profession, would be expected to have been a contributing factor to their contribution.

Recognition and celebration of the achievements and contributions of one of our Members is an ideal opportunity to promote the value which actuaries can add.

We look forward to receiving your nomination.

Deadline for Nominations – Friday 19 July 2019

Submit nomination online

Download Nomination Form

2018 Actuary of the Year - IAN LAUGHLIN

Ian is chairman of OnePath Life, OnePath General Insurance and ANZ Lenders Mortgage Insurance. He chairs the Advisory Board of Blackhall & Pearl and has served on the Actuaries Institute Council.

Ian has had a distinguished professional career in senior management and on boards at major financial corporations, in Australia and internationally. He also formerly served as Deputy Chairman of the financial services regulator APRA where he oversaw the implementation of new capital standards for insurance companies.

Ian has long had an interest in risk management and governance. He was convenor of the Institute’s Risk Management Practice Committee and he helped develop the syllabus for the international actuarial risk management qualification, CERA.

Over the past two years Ian has led the Institute's IFRS taskforce that has prepared guidelines for the new international financial reporting standards. The taskforce has involved representatives from industry, Big Four accounting firms, the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority, general, life, and health insurance practitioners and support from over 60 actuaries.  The work of the taskforce means Australian actuaries are ahead of many of their international peers, with requests for the Australian work to be translated for use in other languages.

Ian has contributed to various papers and presentations over the years. In January this year, he produced a provocative issue of The Dialogue Social Risks - for a financial services business. Having foreshadowed some of the reforms that financial institutions need to take to avoid a recurrence of the issues that have arisen in the Royal Commission into Misconduct in the Banking, Superannuation and Financial Services Industry, Ian highlighted the significance of social risks and the need for entities to factor them into their risk management frameworks.

Ian's contribution to the profession, both with his insight into risk management and his work helping prepare insurers for new international financial reporting standards, make him an appropriate and worthy recipient of the 2018 Actuary of the Year Award.

Read the Media Release