Life Insurance and Wealth Management

The Life Insurance Practice Committee (LIPC):

  • contributes to the strategic direction of the Institute;
  • actively supports the development of actuarial practice through the Institute’s education, CPD, standard-setting, public policy and research activities; and
  • actively identifies and promotes opportunities for members working in life insurance and facilitates communication and liaison within the profession.

The responsibilities of the LIPC include:

  • Identifying new and emerging technical and practice needs of members.
  • Identifying risk exposures for the profession in life insurance and wealth management and making recommendations to Council on how to manage these.
  • Maintaining and developing professional education materials, including reviewing the course syllabus.
  • Identifying continuing professional development needs of members and developing CPD programs and opportunities.
  • Identifying potential issues for research and development.
  • Reviewing and developing relevant Professional Standards and Practice Guidelines.
  • Preparing public policy submissions on technical issues affecting life insurance and wealth management and on matters of broader public interest, including research activity.
  • Communicating on a regular basis with members (e.g. via e-newsletters and Actuaries Digital articles) on issues and developments affecting life insurance and wealth management.
  • Developing links with other actuarial bodies (overseas) and relevant professional and industry bodies.


WMSC Members

Aidan Nguyen (Secretary)
Anthony Brien
David Carruthers
David Millar^
Desmond Muzorewa
Douglas Isles (Convenor)
Eric Ranson
Felix Sun
Hendrie Koster
Henry Zhang
James Marshall
Jean Nette Koay
Kieran Walsh
Mark Berry
Melanie Dunn
Neha Chopra
Oscar Chen (Chair)
Philip Chu
Rein van Rooyen (Chair)
Tyrone Louw
Vivian Yu

Retirement Incomes Working Group

Anthony Asher (Chair)
Paul Swinhoe
Paul Scully
Darren Wickham
Brnic Van Wyk
Anthony Saliba
Richard Boyfield
Luis Sarmiento
Jeff Humphreys
Jim O’Donnell
Ramona Meyricke
Glenn Langton
Jim Hennington
Nicolette Rubinsztein
Pavel Shevchenko
John De Ravin
Graham Kelly
Mike Callan
Russel Chesler
Geoff Dunsford
Kerwin Gu
Wade Matterson
Jonathan Ng

Member Communications Members

Richard Land (Convenor)
Melissa Yeoh
Wen Yi Tang
John Low
Wen Yi Tang
Angat Sandhu
Ramona Meyricke
Esther Kahumburu
Melissa Yeoh
Peter Erlandsen

Life Insurance and Retirement Faculty Members

Faculty Head   Andy Siu
Secretary Kelly Zhang

Peter Corbett (LIRV)
Bruce Thomason - LIRPD
Anthony Brien - LI App
Jim Repanis - S&R App
Practice Committee
Andy Siu (LIWMPC)
Vivian Dang (SPC)
Chief Examiners
Georgina Hemmings - LIRV, LIRPD, LI App
Janice Jones - S&R App             


Peter Kariatlis (Life)
Eric Cheng (Life)
Vivian Dang (Super) 


Vivian Dang (Super)
Young Tan (Super)
Iris Deng (Life)

SME LI App  

Iris Deng
Clayton Roderick
Sammy Liu
Peter Karialtis
Eric Cheng

SME S&R App Vivian Dang
Young Tan

Eleanor Mazando (Operations)
Mike Callan (HEDD)

Retirement Strategy Group

Benjamin Facer
Andrew Boal
David Knox
Nicolette Rubinsztein
Catherine Nance
Michael Rice
Tony Bofinger 
Darren Wickham
Anthony Asher
John McLenaghan
Elayne Grace

CPD Working Group Members

Jia Yi Tan (convenor)
Quanyie Tan
Shweta Krishna
Peter Kariatlis
Paul Ivory